## APPENDIX D: Overview & Scrutiny Remits and Membership 2022/23

Scrutiny Body	Areas of Responsibility	Cabinet Links
Overview & Scrutiny Committee Cllr John Bevan (Chair), Cllr Pippa Connor (Vice-Chair), Cllr Makbule Gunes, Cllr Michelle Simmons-Safo, Cllr Matt White	Haringey Deal: coproduction, codesign, participation and local democracy; Communications; Corporate governance, performance, policy and strategy; External partnerships	Cllr Peray Ahmet Leader of the Council
The Committee shall also comprise statutory education representatives, who shall have voting rights solely on education matters	Council finances, budget and MTFS; Participatory budgeting; Income generation; Community wealth-building: • Procurement: policies, frameworks and systems • Insourcing policy and delivery Capital strategy; Council Tax policy; HR, staff wellbeing and corporate recruitment; IT and digital transformation; Data policy and reform; Information management; Elections; Emergency planning	Cllr Sarah Williams Cabinet Member for Finance and Local Investment

Scrutiny Body	Areas of Responsibility	Cabinet Links
	Active citizenship: Improving community participation Expanding local volunteering Building social capital Supporting community networks Capacity-building for VCS organisations Local food policy: Food security Food security Food growing Community supermarkets and co-operatives Culture: Local arts, poetry, literature Local festivals (inc food and arts festivals) Libraries	Cllr Julie Davies Cabinet Member for Communities and Civic Life
	<ul> <li>Racial, gender, disability and LGBTQ+ inclusion: <ul> <li>Borough Partnership on racial justice</li> <li>Wipe Out Discrimination campaign</li> </ul> </li> <li>Jobs: <ul> <li>Tackling unemployment and worklessness</li> <li>Adult learning, training and skills</li> </ul> </li> <li>Local business: <ul> <li>Local economic growth</li> <li>Business engagement</li> <li>SME business development</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	Cllr Adam Jogee Cabinet Member for Economic Development, Jobs and Community Cohesion
	<ul><li>Local welfare programmes:</li><li>Revenue and benefits;</li></ul>	Cllr Seema Chandwani

Scrutiny Body	Areas of Responsibility	Cabinet Links
	<ul> <li>Council Tax Reduction Scheme;</li> <li>Welfare advice;</li> <li>Haringey Here to Help;</li> <li>Ethical debt policy</li> </ul> Your Council: <ul> <li>Call centre</li> </ul>	Cabinet Member for Tackling Inequality and Resident Services
	Cross cutting, significant or high profile issues; Matters outside the remit of individual panels	To be determined according to issue
Adults & Health Scrutiny Panel Cllr Pippa Connor (Chair), Cllr Anna Abela, Cllr Cathy Brenan; Cllr Yannis Gourtsoyannins; Cllr Thayahlan Iyngkaran; Cllr Felicia Opoku; Cllr Sheila Peacock; Ali Amasyali (co-optee); Helena Kania (co-optee).	Adult social care; Violence Against Women and Girls (VAWG); Mental health and wellbeing; Public Health: • Sexual health • Addiction services • Connected Communities Health and social care integration; Chair of the Health and Wellbeing Board; Safeguarding adults; Services for adults with disabilities and additional needs; Transitions; Refugee and migrant support;	Cllr Lucia das Neves Cabinet Member for Health, Social Care and Well-Being
Children & Young People Scrutiny Panel	Adoption and fostering; Early help; Early years and childcare;	Cllr Zena Brabazon

Scrutiny Body	Areas of Responsibility	Cabinet Links
Cllr Makbule Gunes (Chair), Cllr Anna Abela; Cllr Lester Buxton, Cllr Lotte Collett, Cllr Marsha Isilar-Gosling, Cllr Sue Jameson; Cllr Mary Mason; Yvonne Denny; Anita Jakhu; Jhunjhunwala KanuPriya; Lourdes Keever.	Looked after children and care leavers; Unaccompanied minors; Safeguarding children; Schools and education; Services for children with disabilities and additional needs; 16-19 education; Youth services and youth justice; Transitions	Cabinet Member for Children, Schools and Families
Environment & Community Safety Scrutiny Panel Cllr Michelle Simmons-Safo (Chair); Cllr Eldridge Culverwell; Cllr George Dunstall; Cllr Scott Emery; Cllr Tammy Hymas; Cllr Joy Wallace; Cllr Alex Worrall.	<ul> <li>Strategic Transport: <ul> <li>Walking and cycling</li> <li>Electric cars and charging points</li> <li>Low-Traffic Neighbourhoods</li> </ul> </li> <li>Air pollution: <ul> <li>School Streets</li> </ul> </li> <li>Liveable Neighbourhoods: <ul> <li>Coproducing street redesigns</li> <li>Play streets</li> </ul> </li> <li>Trees and canopy cover: <ul> <li>Community tree-planting and maintenance</li> <li>Improving biodiversity</li> </ul> </li> <li>Coproduced green spaces: <ul> <li>Pocket parks</li> <li>Wildflower planting</li> <li>Community gardening and street-planting</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	Cllr Mike Hakata Cabinet Member for Climate Action, Environment and Transport and Deputy Leader of the Council

Scrutiny Body	Areas of Responsibility	Cabinet Links
	<ul> <li>Community orchards</li> <li>Allotments and community food growing</li> <li>Local renewable energy:         <ul> <li>Community microgeneration projects</li> <li>District Energy Networks</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Climate emergency, sustainability and decarbonisation:</li> <li>Carbon Management and Zero 50</li> <li>Flood prevention</li> <li>Community recycling initiatives</li> <li>North London Waste authority</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Highways: <ul> <li>Parking and parking transformation;</li> <li>Street scene improvement and the public realm</li> </ul> </li> <li>Waste: <ul> <li>Waste management and enforcement;</li> <li>Fly-tipping;</li> <li>Recycling;</li> <li>North London Waste Authority</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	Cllr Seema Chandwani Cabinet Member for Tackling Inequality and Resident Services
	Parks & Leisure	Cllr Julie Davies Cabinet Member for Communities and Civic Life

Scrutiny Body	Areas of Responsibility	Cabinet Links
	<ul> <li>Co-Chair of Community Safety Partnership;</li> <li>Safer streets: <ul> <li>Women's safety</li> <li>Anti-social behaviour</li> </ul> </li> <li>Community cohesion: <ul> <li>Engaging with communities and stakeholders</li> <li>Hate crime</li> <li>Prevent</li> <li>Early intervention model</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	Cllr Adam Jogee Cabinet Member for Economic Development, Jobs and Community Cohesion
Housing & Regeneration Scrutiny Panel Cllr Matt White (Chair); Cllr Charles Adje; Cllr Dawn Barnes; Cllr Mark Blake; Cllr Holly Harrison-Mullane; Cllr Tammy Hymas; Cllr Khaled Moyeed.	Private homes:         Private rented sector         Landlord licensing and enforcement         Empty Homes         Council housing:         Council home repairs         Council tenant engagement and coproduction         Decent Homes         Health and safety issues in council homes         Housing associations:         Partnerships with social landlords         Homelessness and rough sleeping         Planning policy, framework and enforcement         Local Plan         Building regulations         S106 and Community Infrastructure Levy	Cllr Dana Carlin Cabinet Member for Housing Services, Private Renters and Planning

Scrutiny Body	Areas of Responsibility	Cabinet Links
	Licensing and regulatory services	
	<ul> <li>Housing Strategy and Development;</li> <li>Building high-quality new council homes;</li> <li>Council housing estate renewal;</li> <li>Community land trusts;</li> <li>Placemaking;</li> <li>Property: <ul> <li>Council accommodation strategy</li> <li>Council property portfolio</li> <li>Community buildings</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	Cllr Ruth Gordon Council House Building, Placemaking and Development
	verlap between the business of the Panels, it is the rest are not covered by the 4 standing Scrutiny Panels sha	